My Old School

The bits and pieces are being put together and Glasgow is beginning to become attractive. This morning took me down to Ashley Lane for a cup of coffee and the whole lane is wired up, or is it “wirelessed up” or should i say, “wified”? The coffee was good, the ambience pleasant enough and while, as always, it threatened to rain, it didn’t and, coffee drunk, I then set forth down memory lane. Well, not quite for although the city is leaving a pleasant impression, the memories have been pasted over by newer, more recent ones. Still, as I suggested the city is pleasant enough and the walk past the art galleries, past the university, up through Park Gardens was invigorating and with a comfortable 20 degrees celsius and that refreshing breeze which is common to this city blowing into my face, I then found myself walking past my old school and, while there was still no particular nostalgia, no melancholia for any bygone days of yore, I did find myself thinking, “there was me yesterday outside that church at the top of Byres Road only to find that church is no longer a church but a sort of cafe cum restaurant cum pub place and now, look what has happened to my old school, they have also turned it into a cafe cum restaurant cum pub place.” Now, while I am pleased to see the demand for religion in the city of my birth decreasing, I am not quite sure if it is a good idea to replace schools with pubs.
The picture shows my old school, which is now a pub cum restaurant cum cafe.

About sanculottist

There are a lot of poor bastards out there being used and abused; it is just not cricket "old bean". Something tells me that ignorance is not bliss, but is, in fact, simply ignorance and in the global village we cannot look the other way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

