Posted in Politics

And in Scotland … time to work on an alternative media

Daytime television has me watching this programme from time to time where people actively go out in search of their lost families. Now, if some long lost half brother were to turn up on my front door there would be a slight trepidation because of the intrusion and any possible positivity would have already been tempered by a total indifference. “Roots” …. well, trees have them and I suppose a lot of people might even file me under the category “weird”.

Nevertheless, I have joined the SNP and I have put it down to a question of identity. Even if, in the great scheme of things, that part of my identity is almost insignificant. If I were to rank a variety of critirea on a scale of one to twenty, with regard to their importance (twenty being the lowest), then national identity as a defining factor in what makes ego would struggle to occupy the twentieth spot. Still, a wee bit of me is Scottish, and that wee bit tells me that the SNP are doing something right. It tells me that if they are to determine Scotland’s future, then there might just be a chance that at least for the people of Scotland a fairer society might be possible. Something which I found being reinforced when I watched the new M.P. for Edinburgh East, Tommy Sheppard, giving his maiden speech in the House of Commons.

Of course, they are still up against it and as the referendum showed the mainstream media will do all it can to ensure that its masters in the city of London and the UK government hold the day. But, hey, they are not hanging around in “Jockland” and in line with my new political affiliation I made a little sojourn into the world of Scotland’s alternative media which quickly confirmed what I already knew. It is time to give the mainstream media the cold shoulder. Not only in Scotland’s case, of course, but since that is what we are talking about do read ‘Bella Caledonia’ and once you have finished skimming and scanning that, why don’t you peruse ‘Wings over Scotland’ before finishing off with a wee look at ‘Newsnet.Scot’.

Yes, it is time to move on from the corporate kingdom, but to do that it is time to cultivate and work on real alternatives to the daily drivel. Still, no doubt, I am not alone in realising this.

Author:

There are a lot of poor bastards out there being used and abused; it is just not cricket "old bean". Something tells me that ignorance is not bliss, but is, in fact, simply ignorance and in the global village we cannot look the other way.

One thought on “And in Scotland … time to work on an alternative media

Leave a Reply

